Best boat dealer software (2026): an independent comparison by category
By Mason Bennett, boat dealership GM. Published Oct 29, 2026. Published prices checked Oct 28 to Oct 29, 2026 (each row shows its date).
Short answer: there is no single best boat dealer software. Most stores run a DMS plus a few tools around it: a CRM, lead response, a website and inventory feed, financing partners and reviews. Of the 34 vendors in our directory, 9 publish a price on their own site. The rest quote you. Prices below are copied exactly as published, with the date checked.
I run a boat dealership. I'm not a software vendor, and nobody paid to be on this page. This is how the software fits together, who sells each piece, and what they publish about price.
How this comparison works
- Vendor sources only. Every listing comes from the vendor's own public pages. Each vendor profile links to its sources. (How we review)
- Prices exactly as published. If a vendor publishes a price, it's quoted with the date I checked it. If not, it says "Not published." I re-checked the published prices for Lightspeed DMS, HelmDMS, Shiftix Cloud, NautiLead, VELA, BluSynq and Brilo AI on Oct 29, 2026, on their own pricing pages. None changed.
- Third-party numbers are labeled unverified. Review sites and blogs post prices some vendors don't. Those are in their own section below, never in the main tables.
- No ranking. Tables are grouped by category, then by whether the vendor publishes a price, then by name. That's the whole sort. It isn't a score.
- Sponsors don't change the order. Paid placements and sponsors on this site are always labeled "Sponsored", and they never affect order, pricing status or notes. There are no sponsors on this page. (About)
Start with what each piece of software does
Here's each category in plain terms, and every vendor we list in it. A vendor that does more than one thing shows up in more than one table.
Dealer management system (DMS)
The DMS is the system of record. Units, parts, service work orders, deals and accounting live here. Lightspeed describes the range as anything from "a lean, core DMS to manage inventory and sales" to a system with "advanced CRM, multi-store accounting, and automated service scheduling." (Lightspeed DMS pricing) BiT sells the same idea in modules: parts and point of sale, service, sales and F&I, and slips and storage. (BiT DMS pricing)
Prices vary a lot because the systems are priced by size and modules. Lightspeed says its pricing scales "from $450 to $3,000+ per month based on the size and complexity of your operation." (Lightspeed DMS pricing) BiT says it starts at $238 per month for two modules, billed annually, with more modules from $119 per month each. (BiT DMS pricing) DealerRock lists three tiers with no prices and says pricing depends on locations, users, features, integrations and implementation. (DealerRock pricing)
More detail: marine DMS guide, Lightspeed DMS pricing, DockMaster pricing.
13 vendors in our directory. 3 publish a price. Order: published price first, then name. See the dealer management systems (dms) guide.
| Vendor | Focus | Pricing | Checked |
|---|---|---|---|
| BiT DMS | General / multi-industry | Published Starts at $238 per month, billed annually | Oct 28, 2026 |
| HelmDMS | Marine-focused | Published Starts at $499 per month | Oct 29, 2026 |
| Lightspeed DMS | General / multi-industry | Published Starts at $450 per month | Oct 29, 2026 |
| Blackpurl | General / multi-industry | Not published Quote only | Oct 27, 2026 |
| BoaterOS | Marine-focused | Not published Quote only | Oct 20, 2026 |
| Boatyard | Marine-focused | Not published Quote only | Oct 18, 2026 |
| Commander | Marine-focused | Not published Quote only | Oct 27, 2026 |
| DealerRock | Marine-focused | Not published Quote only | Oct 29, 2026 |
| DockMaster | Marine-focused | Not published Quote only | Oct 27, 2026 |
| Ideal Computer Systems | General / multi-industry | Not published Quote only | Oct 27, 2026 |
| IDS Astra | General / multi-industry | Not published Quote only | Oct 20, 2026 |
| Total Control Software | General / multi-industry | Not published Quote only | Oct 27, 2026 |
| Winboats | Marine-focused | Not published Quote only | Oct 27, 2026 |
CRM and lead management
The CRM is where leads, follow-up and customer history live. Some DMS products include a CRM, like Lightspeed's "advanced CRM" option (Lightspeed DMS pricing). Other stores add a separate one. Two marine-focused CRMs publish prices: NautiLead lists plans at $199, $299 and $499 a month plus a $399 one-time setup fee (NautiLead pricing), and Shiftix Cloud lists a $0 Starter plan, then $79 and $99 per user per month with user minimums (Shiftix pricing).
Read the terms, not only the price. NautiLead's FAQ says "All plans require a 6-month minimum commitment," while its plan cards say "No contracts - cancel anytime." (NautiLead pricing) Ask which one goes in your agreement.
More detail: boat dealer CRM guide.
13 vendors in our directory. 3 publish a price. Order: published price first, then name. See the crm and lead management guide.
| Vendor | Focus | Pricing | Checked |
|---|---|---|---|
| Lightspeed DMS | General / multi-industry | Published Starts at $450 per month | Oct 29, 2026 |
| NautiLead | Marine-focused | Published Starts at $199 per month (Seaman) | Oct 29, 2026 |
| Shiftix Cloud | General / multi-industry | Published Starts at $0 (Starter) or $79 per user per month (Standard) | Oct 29, 2026 |
| BoaterOS | Marine-focused | Not published Quote only | Oct 20, 2026 |
| BoatLife.ai | Marine-focused | Not published Quote only | Oct 18, 2026 |
| DealerDock | Marine-focused | Not published Quote only | Oct 27, 2026 |
| DealerRock | Marine-focused | Not published Quote only | Oct 29, 2026 |
| DP360 CRM | General / multi-industry | Not published Quote only | Oct 27, 2026 |
| Ideal Computer Systems | General / multi-industry | Not published Quote only | Oct 27, 2026 |
| IDS Astra | General / multi-industry | Not published Quote only | Oct 20, 2026 |
| Traffic Log Pro | General / multi-industry | Not published Quote only | Oct 27, 2026 |
| Transax | General / multi-industry | Not published Quote only | Oct 20, 2026 |
| HubSpot | General / multi-industry | Not captured Not captured | Oct 28, 2026 |
Lead response: chat, text and voice
These tools answer leads and calls when your people can't, then hand them off. VELA, for example, says it qualifies leads and hands warm buyers to salespeople. (VELA) Most bill monthly, and some bill by usage. VELA says it is "$500 per month, flat. No per-lead fees, no usage limits, no setup cost." (VELA) BluSynq lists plans at $119, $349 and $649 a month and says "All plans are billed annually." (BluSynq) Brilo AI has a free plan with 10 minutes a month, then $149 a month for 600 minutes and 16 cents a minute after that. (Brilo AI pricing)
A per-minute plan and a flat plan aren't comparable until you know your call volume. Annual billing means the real commitment is 12 times the monthly number.
More detail: lead response guide.
9 vendors in our directory. 5 publish a price. Order: published price first, then name. See the ai lead response, chat and voice guide.
| Vendor | Focus | Pricing | Checked |
|---|---|---|---|
| BluSynq | Marine-focused | Published Starts at $119 per month, billed annually (Navy Blu, after-hours only) | Oct 29, 2026 |
| Brilo AI | General / multi-industry | Published Starts at $0 (10 minutes a month) or $149 per month (Pro) | Oct 29, 2026 |
| HelmDMS | Marine-focused | Published Starts at $499 per month | Oct 29, 2026 |
| Shiftix Cloud | General / multi-industry | Published Starts at $0 (Starter) or $79 per user per month (Standard) | Oct 29, 2026 |
| VELA | Marine-focused | Published Starts at $500 per month | Oct 29, 2026 |
| BoatLife.ai | Marine-focused | Not published Quote only | Oct 18, 2026 |
| DealerDock | Marine-focused | Not published Quote only | Oct 27, 2026 |
| Kenect | General / multi-industry | Not published Quote only | Oct 18, 2026 |
| Podium | General / multi-industry | Not published Quote only | Oct 18, 2026 |
Service and storage scheduling
This is the part of a boat store a car-dealer system usually doesn't cover: winterization, spring launch, slips and dry stack. DockMaster lists slips, reservations, dry stack and launch scheduling alongside service work orders. (DockMaster) DockMaster doesn't publish a price. Its /pricing page returned a 404 when I checked on Oct 29, 2026. (DockMaster pricing URL)
More detail: service and storage guide, DockMaster pricing.
6 vendors in our directory. 3 publish a price. Order: published price first, then name. See the service and storage scheduling guide.
| Vendor | Focus | Pricing | Checked |
|---|---|---|---|
| BiT DMS | General / multi-industry | Published Starts at $238 per month, billed annually | Oct 28, 2026 |
| BluSynq | Marine-focused | Published Starts at $119 per month, billed annually (Navy Blu, after-hours only) | Oct 29, 2026 |
| Lightspeed DMS | General / multi-industry | Published Starts at $450 per month | Oct 29, 2026 |
| Boatyard | Marine-focused | Not published Quote only | Oct 18, 2026 |
| DockMaster | Marine-focused | Not published Quote only | Oct 27, 2026 |
| IDS Astra | General / multi-industry | Not published Quote only | Oct 20, 2026 |
Websites and inventory syndication
This is your website and the feed that puts your units on the marketplaces. BoatWizard lists dealer inventory across Boat Trader, YachtWorld and boats.com. (Boats Group) If your DMS or website provider sends that feed, plan for it. Boats Group says inbound feeds "must be reviewed and approved by a Boats Group data specialist" and to allow about three weeks for setup. (BoatWizard support) Ask about this before you switch.
More detail: websites and syndication guide.
7 vendors in our directory. 1 publish a price. Order: published price first, then name. See the websites and inventory syndication guide.
| Vendor | Focus | Pricing | Checked |
|---|---|---|---|
| HelmDMS | Marine-focused | Published Starts at $499 per month | Oct 29, 2026 |
| BoaterOS | Marine-focused | Not published Quote only | Oct 20, 2026 |
| BoatWizard (Boats Group) | Marine-focused | Not published Quote only | Oct 18, 2026 |
| Boatyard | Marine-focused | Not published Quote only | Oct 18, 2026 |
| Dealer Spike | General / multi-industry | Not published Quote only | Oct 18, 2026 |
| DealerDock | Marine-focused | Not published Quote only | Oct 27, 2026 |
| Winboats | Marine-focused | Not published Quote only | Oct 27, 2026 |
F&I and financing
These are lenders and F&I partners, not software you subscribe to. That's why they show "Lender" instead of a price. We don't make loans. Apply on the lender's own site.
More detail: F&I and financing guide.
6 vendors in our directory. 0 publish a price. Order: published price first, then name. See the f&i and financing guide.
| Vendor | Focus | Pricing | Checked |
|---|---|---|---|
| Traffic Log Pro | General / multi-industry | Not published Quote only | Oct 27, 2026 |
| Transax | General / multi-industry | Not published Quote only | Oct 20, 2026 |
| Northpoint Commercial Finance | General / multi-industry | Lender (n/a) Lender, not a subscription | Oct 18, 2026 |
| Octane (Roadrunner Financial) | General / multi-industry | Lender (n/a) Lender, not a subscription | Oct 18, 2026 |
| Sheffield Financial | General / multi-industry | Lender (n/a) Lender, not a subscription | Oct 18, 2026 |
| Trident Funding | Marine-focused | Lender (n/a) Lender, not a subscription | Oct 28, 2026 |
Digital retail
Digital retail lets a buyer get closer to a deal online: payments, trade-in, credit apps. I haven't found a standalone digital retail product built only for boat dealers. It shows up as a feature inside website, lender and CRM tools, like Dealer Spike's digital retailing (Dealer Spike) and the vendors below.
More detail: digital retail guide.
5 vendors in our directory. 0 publish a price. Order: published price first, then name. See the digital retail guide.
| Vendor | Focus | Pricing | Checked |
|---|---|---|---|
| Boatyard | Marine-focused | Not published Quote only | Oct 18, 2026 |
| Dealer Spike | General / multi-industry | Not published Quote only | Oct 18, 2026 |
| DealerDock | Marine-focused | Not published Quote only | Oct 27, 2026 |
| Transax | General / multi-industry | Not published Quote only | Oct 20, 2026 |
| Octane (Roadrunner Financial) | General / multi-industry | Lender (n/a) Lender, not a subscription | Oct 18, 2026 |
Reviews and reputation
Reviews are a sales tool. The base layer costs nothing: Google says "creating a Business Profile and listing your business on Google is free." (Google Business Profile) The paid tools below add more on top. Each profile lists what it does.
More detail: reviews and reputation guide.
8 vendors in our directory. 1 publish a price. Order: published price first, then name. See the reviews and reputation guide.
| Vendor | Focus | Pricing | Checked |
|---|---|---|---|
| Google Business Profile | General / multi-industry | Published Starts at Free | Oct 18, 2026 |
| Birdeye | General / multi-industry | Not published Quote only | Oct 18, 2026 |
| Dealer Spike | General / multi-industry | Not published Quote only | Oct 18, 2026 |
| DealerDock | Marine-focused | Not published Quote only | Oct 27, 2026 |
| Ideal Computer Systems | General / multi-industry | Not published Quote only | Oct 27, 2026 |
| Kenect | General / multi-industry | Not published Quote only | Oct 18, 2026 |
| Podium | General / multi-industry | Not published Quote only | Oct 18, 2026 |
| Traffic Log Pro | General / multi-industry | Not published Quote only | Oct 27, 2026 |
Who publishes a price
These are the vendors that put a price on their own site. They are grouped by category, not sorted by price, because they bill in different units: per location, per user, per minute, flat. The lowest number isn't always the lowest cost. "Our math" means I multiplied the vendor's own numbers. The full list, with every vendor's status, is in the pricing tracker.
| Vendor | Starts at | What that buys | Billing and contract | Extra fees and limits | Source and date checked |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| BiT DMS Dealer management systems (DMS) | $238 per month, billed annually | Includes 2 modules and 1 full-access user (unlimited tech users) | Billed annually. $270 per month if billed monthly No setup fees, no contract, cancel anytime (vendor) | More modules from $119/month each. Extra full-access users $25/month. Texting $99/month annual or $115/month monthly. Optional fees may apply for website integration, F&I bank contracts and slip map setup. | Source Oct 28, 2026 |
| HelmDMS Dealer management systems (DMS) | $499 per month | Per location, unlimited users | Month-to-month Month-to-month. $200 refundable deposit | SMS, email and voice usage billed at cost. Founding rate for the first 25 dealers; the vendor says its next tier will likely be $699 to $849 per month. | Source Oct 29, 2026 |
| Lightspeed DMS Dealer management systems (DMS) | $450 per month | Scaled to the size and complexity of the dealership, up to $3,000+ per month | Not stated on the pricing page Not stated on the pricing page | Range only. Your quote depends on your operation. | Source Oct 29, 2026 |
| NautiLead CRM and lead management | $199 per month (Seaman) | Seaman: 2 team members, 1 location. Captain $299/month: 5 and 1. Admiral $499/month: 10 and 2 locations | Monthly. Yearly billing: pay 10 months, get 12 6-month minimum commitment (FAQ). No refunds | $399 one-time setup fee with the first payment after the trial. Extra team members $10/month, extra locations $49/month. Conflict: The same page says 'No contracts - cancel anytime' and also a 6-month minimum. It gives the trial as $1, $99 and $399 in different places. Ask which applies. | Source Oct 29, 2026 |
| Shiftix Cloud CRM and lead management | $0 (Starter) or $79 per user per month (Standard) | Starter: 2 users, 1 rooftop, 100 active contacts. Standard: 2-user minimum ($158/month at the minimum, our math). Professional: $99 per user per month, 4-user minimum ($396/month, our math) | Not stated No contract required (vendor) | Extra rooftops $199/month on Professional. Payment processing fees apply. Implementation fees may apply. Enterprise is custom. | Source Oct 29, 2026 |
| BluSynq AI lead response, chat and voice | $119 per month, billed annually (Navy Blu, after-hours only) | Sky Blu $349/month. Cobalt Blu $649/month. Royal Blu custom | All plans billed annually ($1,428 a year at the lowest plan, our math) Billed annually. 14-day free trial | No setup fees (vendor). Conflict: The page's search data says 'Plans start at $249/month', which doesn't match the $119 plan card. Ask which applies. | Source Oct 29, 2026 |
| Brilo AI AI lead response, chat and voice | $0 (10 minutes a month) or $149 per month (Pro) | Pro: 600 minutes, then 16 cents per minute. Growth: $499/month, 2,500 minutes, then 14 cents per minute | Monthly. Annual billing saves 10% (vendor) Not stated | Usage-based above the included minutes. Custom plan on request. | Source Oct 29, 2026 |
| VELA AI lead response, chat and voice | $500 per month | Flat, per the vendor | Not stated Not stated | Vendor says no per-lead fees, no usage limits and no setup cost. | Source Oct 29, 2026 |
| Google Business Profile Reviews and reputation | Free | Per business listing | None None | None listed | Source Oct 18, 2026 |
Numbers you'll see elsewhere (unverified)
Review sites and blogs post prices for some vendors that don't publish one. I haven't confirmed these on the vendor's site, so treat them as a reason to ask, not as a quote.
- DealerRock: From $390 per month Unverified Source: Third-party blogs (Guideflow, BoaterOS), not DealerRock's site. Status on the vendor's own site: Not published.
- DockMaster: $165 per feature per month Unverified Source: Capterra and Software Advice listings, not DockMaster's site. Status on the vendor's own site: Not published.
- HubSpot: Paid plans from $45 per month Unverified Source: A third-party review site, not HubSpot's page. Status on the vendor's own site: Not captured.
How to choose
- Start with the DMS. It touches every department and it's the hardest to change. Pick it first, then add tools that integrate with it.
- Write down what you already pay for. Texting, website, CRM and lead response often overlap. Some DMS vendors bundle texting or a website. BiT sells embedded texting (BiT DMS pricing) and HelmDMS lists a dealer website and built-in SMS (HelmDMS). Check before you add a separate tool.
- Ask how it's priced, not just how much. Per location, per user, per module or per minute all grow differently as you add people and stores.
- Check the contract. Billed annually, a minimum term, auto-renewal and notice periods change the real cost. DockMaster's public contract is a good example of what to look for. (DockMaster pricing)
- Check the integrations you need. Ask for the list of OEM, lender, accounting and marketplace connections, and what each one costs. (Lightspeed DMS pricing covers integration fees.)
- Plan the switch. Data migration, training and inventory feeds take time. Ask for a go-live date in writing.
Questions to ask on any quote
- What is the monthly price for my store, with every module and user listed on the order form?
- Is it billed monthly or annually? What is the minimum term, and how much notice do I need to cancel?
- What do setup, data migration and training cost?
- What usage is billed on top: texting, calls, minutes, payments?
- Which integrations are included, and which cost extra each month?
- How much can the price go up at renewal? Will you cap it in writing?
- If I leave, how do I get my data out, in what format, and does it cost anything?
My take
Ask every vendor for a written price, even the ones that publish one. A published number is a starting point. The order form is what you pay.
If you have a quote you're willing to share, send it in. I'll publish it anonymously, labeled as one dealer's report. Price changes go in the pricing tracker change log, and you can get them by email below.
Mason